Psychology, and Penguins: An Interview With Alison Teter

I am a brother in DelVal’s chapter of the co-ed fraternity Alpha Phi Omega. In this chapter of the fraternity we have all different kinds of majors. I am an English Literature major; we have someone who is switching his major to Chemistry; we some Zoo Science majors; we have Small Animal Science majors; we have Zoology majors; we even have a couple Counseling Psychology majors. Because of this connection of being in a co-ed fraternity and being friends with people of other majors, this past Monday I had he wonderful privilege to have an interview with Alison Teter, a counseling psychology major at Delaware Valley University. I got to interview her about being a Psychology major.

Rachel Lyle: What year are you?

Alison Teter: I am a junior.

RL: Why did you choose DelVal?

She was very enthusiastic when she answered this one.

AT: My favorite teacher in high school, my animal science teacher, was a big influence on me. She is alumni from DelVal. I went a tech school and she brought our class here for a tour because the animal science aspect is a big thing here at DelVal. I looked at other schools for the interdisciplinary aspect between Small Animal Science and Counseling Psychology but I only really found it here at DelVal.

RL: What is your major?

AT: I was originally a dual major in Counseling Psychology and Small Animal Science, but that was way too much; so now I’m a Counseling Psychology major with a minor in Small Animal Science.

RL: Why did you decide to become a counseling psych and a major?

AT: Well, um, in high school I figured out I wanted to go into Psychology. I thought was going to be a vet. According to my family my first word was dog but I don’t know if that’s actually true. When I went to tech school I shadowed a lot of Vets but I decided after that I did want to be a vet. I also have many friends with mental health issues who were hospitalized because of attempts of suicide. I was horrible to watch them and to feel so helpless. I decided that never again would I let that happen. I was original a dual major but I was not fulfilling the credit requirement for Small Animal Science. I realized that animals help me to be happy when I’m having a bad day and when I was in high school my teachers noticed and would often do things like let me hang out in the kitten room and do my homework and other similar things. Because of this I changed to Small Animal Science to a minor and I want to go into Animal Assistant Therapy.

RL: What are some of the things you do as a Psych major?

She seemed like she didn’t really know how to answer this oneat first but then she dove right in and answered with a smile on her face.

AT: I go to class. I’m doing student research as a follow up of one of the projects I did. I do a lot of learning and practicing. Psych labs are more often practicing skills of psychology rather than just doing experiments. It’s pretty fun but often it’s terrifying because of the fact that these things can be a defining moment to my career. I do a lot of learning of theories, and a lot of research. I also do introspection; one of my teacher taught me a saying, counselor known they self, it sounds silly but it’s true because if you don’t know your own weakness and strengths your not gonna do a good job of helping others with theirs.

RL:What do you enjoy the most about your major? Why?

AT: The thing I enjoy the most are the professors. They’re just really great people to put it in plain language. They’re open, and so kind.It’s unbelievable that they can be so patient, understanding, and encouraging. I have one professor, who I don’t know how he puts up with me, he is so patient. They also clearly know what their doing.

RL: What has been your favorite class so far? Why?

AT: I don’t know how to answer this because half of my classes have been my favorite class so far. Women’s Lit was great because I love Professor McCal and I loved the material. I just loved the material and the professors in like all of my classes. I love Small Animal Management because I love the material and I love the teacher. I saw her earlier today with some of my friends and she was making fun of music choices because of our pop music and how she can show us what good music is. I loved Multicultural Issues with Dr. Irving because I loved her and I loved how she taught us to think about hard topics. I loved Abnormal Psych because I love Dr. Muchler and learning about Disorders in the DSM and detail oriented it is and how to deal with them.

Here is where I took the interview in a completely different direction.

RL: If you were to get rid of one state in the U.S., which would it be and why?

She was hesitant on answering this one, and she answered it thoughtfully.

AT:If I were to get rid of one state in the U.S. I think it would be Rhode island because it’s the smallest state and the country would least effected by taking such a small amount of land out of it. Whereas if go rid of a stare like Wyoming here would be a space in the middle of the U.S., a big gaping hole in the middle of the country that would disorienting. I also don’t think people realize that Rhode Island exists.

RL: A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here?

She laughed as she answered this one.

AT: He doesn’t say anything because he is a penguin and he is not capable of speech, and because Charline stole him from the zoo for that party she was planning and lost him. (For those of you who don’t know Charline is another brother in the fraternity who is basically obsessed with penguins.)

So that was my interview with Alison Teter. We had a lot of and we laughed quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

