25 Quotes for Dancers

By: Johanna Marano April 24, 2017

Dancing has always composed a major portion of my life. I honestly could not have imagined participating in some other sport or activity over the past eighteen years. Through dancing, I found an enjoyable way to express myself. Dancing did not only allow me to improve and develop my technique, but helped shaped me into the person I am today. Here I compiled a list of some of my favorite dance quotes that helped me to keep striving to better myself.

  1. “I do not try to dance better than anyone else. I only try to dance better than myself.” – Mikhail Baryshnikov
  2. “Dancers are the athletes of God.” – Albert Einstein
  3. “You have not witnessed a real workout until you’ve watched a dancer practice.”
  4. “Dancing with the feet is one thing, but dancing with the heart is another.”
  5. “When you dance, your purpose is not to get to a certain place on the floor. It’s to enjoy each step along the way.” – Wayne Dyer
  6. Great dancers are not great because of their technique; they are great because of their passion.” – Martha Graham
  7. “Don’t practice until you get it right. Practice until you can’t get it wrong.”
  8. “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass; it’s about learning to dance in the rain.”
  9. “It takes an athlete to dance, but an artist to be a dancer”. – Shanna LaFleur
  10. “They call it dance, I call it life.”
  11. “Dance is the hidden language of the soul.” – Martha Graham
  12. “Dance isn’t just dance, it’s magical, something that sets your free.”
  13. “Why walk when you can dance?” – Ellen van Dam
  14. “Dance is a conversation between body and soul.”
  15. “I could not adequately describe the way dance makes me feel. It is as though I had somehow found a way to sever the chords holding me to this earth and for a moment if only a fraction of a second I can fly.”
  16. “I don’t just dance. I perform. I breathe. I watch the world disappear. I release my feelings. I lead with my heart. I tear down my walls. I stop feeling sad. I lose the pain. I let go. I smile. No, I don’t just dance, I do so much more.”
  17. “Everybody can dance; it’s the drive and passion that makes you a dancer.”
  18. “I dance because there’s no greater feeling in the world than moving to a piece of music and letting the rest of the world disappear.”
  19. “Don’t dance for the audience, dance yourself.” – Bob Fosse
  20. “To touch, to move, to inspire. This is the true gift of dance.” – Aubrey Lynch
  21. “Dancing allows me to learn about my limitations and strengths, my ability to cope with adversity and to get farther than I thought I could. You find out what you’re made of.”
  22. “Dance from your heart and love your music, and the audience will love you in return.” – Maria Tallchief
  23. “Thinking is the biggest mistake a dancer could make. You have to feel.”
  24. “Dancing is an art. The floor is my canvas and I am the brush. And whatever I create comes from the heart.”
  25. “Dance enables to find yourself and lose yourself at the same time.”
Ballerina
“Ballerina” by Andrew Atroshenko – I came across quite a few ballerina paintings by Atroshenko while compiling my quotes and fell in love with his work immediately.

Leave a Reply

