Alice Through The Looking Glass: A Movie Review

By: Rachel Lyle, April 21st, 2017

My two  favorite books have always been Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass and What Alice Found There by Lewis Carroll. So when I found out that Tim Burton was making Alice Through The Looking Glass I freaked out. I loved Tim Burton’s Version of Alice in Wonderland so I thought I might enjoy this one as well. When I watched this movie, I more than loved it, I was enchanted and enthralled by it. If I had to pick only one movie that I could watch for the rest of my life it would be this one

The story line was changed from the bookBecause the first movie had the storyline of Through The Looking Glass they had to come up with a whole new storyline. Instead of the journey across a giant chess board while meeting lots of strange creatures and having strange experiences, Alice has to travel through time.

The mad hatter, Tarrant, is dying because he believes that his family is being held captive somewhere in Wonderland by the Red Queen, Iracebeth, and not dead as previously thought. So Alice has to go to the Palace of Time who is personified as a man to get the Chronosphere in order to travel back into the past to save the Tarrant’s family. In the process she ends up being chased by time and also attempts to keep Iracebeth from hitting her head as a child and thus saving her from becoming the evil Red Queen. She fails in her attempt to keep this from happening to the Iracebeth because she finds out she cannot change the past but she does find and save Tarrant’s family in the present.

My favorite part about this movie wasn’t anything about the storyline. It was the costumes and the sets. I loved the costumes especially because they were all brightly colored, silly, out of this world, and extremely exaggerated. I loved the sets because all of the flowers and plants were strange and exotic and in beautiful bright colors as were the buildings. The buildings were strangely shaped with mismatching doors and windows and all in vibrant, bright, contrasting colors. Even in the darkness of the Palace of Time, all of the colors seemed to stand out because they were bold, vibrant and beautiful. The colors were bold blues and golds, bright pinks, yellows, greens, and oranges, and deep reds, and purples. I have always loved bright and bold colors and all things kooky and crazy so I loved the sets and costumes of this movie.

I enjoyed the awesome upbeat soundtrack of the movie. It was suspenseful at times and just plain silly and entertaining at others. It was all done by Danny Elfman, who in my humble opinion knows how to produce very lovely music of all kinds. All of the soundtrack was done by him except for one song which was sung by the lovely P!nk, called “Just Like Fire”, which has become one of my favorite songs since the first time I watched the movie.

I loved watching this movie and want to watch it over and over again. I think it is a perfect family movie, perfect for people of any age. I would recommend that you watch this movie if you haven’t yet because it is awesome. One thing I didn’t like about this movie was the fact that at one point, Alice comes back home from Wonderland and finds herself in a psych ward and has to go back to Wonderland. I also didn’t like the fact that, I didn’t like this in the first movie either, the hatter, Tarrant, is portrayed as being part of the High Top clan and as having an actual family. Despite these things I give it two thumbs up and five stars. 10 out of 10, I would watch it again.

Leave a Reply

