ABC Networking Night: An Opportunity to Brag

By Molly K. Lichtner, 4/2/17

Every once in a blue moon, there is an E360 requirement or mandatory event at DelVal that I just do not understand.  In this case the requirement was ABC Networking Night, which took place Thursday, March 30th in Moumgis Auditorium.  I attended as a participant because I am currently enrolled in Senior Seminar, which is a class centered around preparing graduates for entering the workforce by teaching us skills about how to format a resume, how to dress and act for a job interview, and how to find potential quality jobs.  ABC stands for Animal Biotechnology and Conservation, which is the department’s overstated name for “Zoo Science majors, Small Animal majors, and whatever else doesn’t fit in to any other department” (I.E. my major, Conservation & Wildlife Management).

ABC Networking Night is supposed to be an opportunity for graduating seniors to discuss the internships and jobs they had done for their E360 credits.  It is also supposed to be a chance to actually network: make connections, find job leads, and collect business cards.  Instead, it consisted mostly of the seniors (myself included) sitting behind tables while freshman and transfer students enrolled in Introduction to Small Animal Management feverishly ask the same three questions and fill out an assignment sheet worth 50 points.  The table set up was not conducive to networking between seniors themselves because they were lined up in rows.

From what I was able to see before the event started, a lot of my peers have done a lot of really cool things!  One of my friends participated in Operation Wallacea in Africa.  According to their website, Operation Wallacea is “a conservation research organization that is funded by, and relies on, teams of student volunteers who join expeditions for the opportunity to work on real-world research programs alongside academic researchers.”  Another classmate worked in a veterinary lab at the University of Pennsylvania.  A lot of people have had jobs and internships at local zoos, aquariums, and animal centers.  The diversity of experiences my classmates took part in was exciting!  I never knew that students at DelVal had such a wide variety of interests and connections.  You rock, DelVal students, you rock.

One of the upsides of the Networking Night was that I got to talk to lots of people about one of my favorite things: beekeeping.  By sharing my experience I got to relive the summer I spent doing one of the things I love most.  So, hey, maybe ABC Networking Night isn’t so bad after all.

Leave a Reply

