Sorority Life: An Interview with Aria Plants

By: Johanna Marano March 5, 2017

Aria Plants is a junior Psychology major at Delaware Valley University. She is also a fellow English minor like myself and formerly a staff member here on Flask. She is a member of DEB (Delta Epsilon Beta), one of the sororities here on campus. In addition, she is an RA (resident assistant) in Centennial Hall. She also works in the I.T. Department on campus. She is one of my really good friends, so I sat down with her to talk about her involvement in DEB, since I personally am not too familiar with this particular sorority.

snapchat-1675169367
Aria Plants, who was under the weather, during our interview. She jokingly told me “this is what happens when Greek life consumes you”. Really Aria has just been super busy lately in general as we approached Spring Break.

How long have you been a member of DEB?

Almost a year, I was inducted last spring.

What does DEB stand by and promote?

DEB has strong core group of ideals that we stand by. We want to better ourselves, in addition to the community around us. We want to be there for each other as we get through college and taking all the opportunities that it has to offer.

Did you come to college knowing you wanted to be a member of Greek Life?

Going into college I had no idea that I was going to join a sorority. I never would have believed someone if they told me that I would be a member of a sorority my sophomore year of college. I honestly would have laughed at them for saying such a thing.

What made you want to join a sorority then?

I had a lot of friends in DEB and they made it seem really interesting, which made me want to be a part of it. So I decided to go out of my comfort zone and give it a shot.

What specifically about DEB made you choose this sorority out of the other Greek life on campus?

I was certain that when I chose to rush a sorority that it was going to be DEB. Many of my friends were already members, but that was not the only reason. I chose DEB based on where I would best fit with my personality. I also really like the social aspect DEB, compared to the other Greek life on campus. DEB is a socially based sorority, in addition to Omega Chi, and does some community work. Sigma Alpha is more professionally based and agriculturally related. Alpha Phi Omega is a co-ed fraternity and service based.

What kind of community service projects do you do with DEB?

Although we are a social sorority, we still participate in community service projects as well. We do adopt a highway, various fundraising events, and even help an older gentleman on his alpaca farm.

Do you hold a position within the sorority?

Yes, I actually hold a couple. I am the Homecoming chair. I am also the Vice President of Standards for Inter-Greek Council, which over sees all the Geek life on campus. I got in to this position because I was the ICG representative and was nominated to this position. I am also the New Member Educator for this semester. In this position, I educate the new potential members during our 6 week process. I teach them about DEB’s history and what it takes to be a sister if they were to be official inducted.

What is your favorite memory or event?

It would have to be Formal from last spring. I was just initiated and officially an active member. All the sisters were in one place at the same time, which was nice. And it was a lot of fun!

Would you ever consider joining a different sorority now that you have been a member of DEB?

No, I would not change a thing.

What advice would you give to a potential new DEB member, or any person looking to join Greek life?

Don’t be afraid to talk to people and put yourself out there. Take a chance and put yourself out of your comfort zone. Greek life is not what everyone thinks it is, in regards to having a bad reputation, it is so much more than that and really great.

Leave a Reply

