Purchasing and Duplicating: An interview with Craig Norcross

By: Rachel Lyle, February 24th, 2017

My father is the Director of Purchasing at Delaware Valley University and with this position he has employees under him because of this connection, this past Wednesday I had the opportunity to interview one of these employees, Craig Norcross.

The interview was quick and fairly painless for both of us and he was able to easily answer of the questions I was prepared to ask. The interview went a little something like this.

My question: What is your position/title here at DelVal?

Craig: My title here at DelVal would be senior purchasing agent.

My question: What are the responsibilities of this position?

Craig: My responsibilities are purchasing all of the stuff for the college and duplicating. Everything that the college purchases goes through me.

My question: What was you degree in college? Does it have anything to do with this position?

Craig: I have a Bachelor’s degree in Business and Master’s degree in Business, so yes they do have to do this position.

My question: Where did you go to college?

Craig: I went Calvary Bible College, Eastern University, and DelVal

My Question: What were your original career plans? Do they have anything to do with the position you hold now?

Craig: My original career plans were to be a minster, So they have nothing to do with this position.

My Question: Was there a person in your career who really made a difference?

Craig: No, there wasn’t.

My Question:What do you think has been your greatest accomplishment in your career so far?

Craig: I would have to say getting to be here at DelVal.

My Question: What inspires you?

Craig: The best answer, I have to say, would be God and the Bible

This was the point where I switched the topic of the interview a little bit and added some questions that were somewhat more fun, so that the interview wasn’t so boring.Those questions which were more random, went something like this:

My Question: What do you like to do for fun?

Craig: I like to fish and shoot guns.

My Question: What’s the last book you read? Would you recommend it to other people?

Craig: I am currently in the middle of reading Lord Change Me by James McDonald.

My Question: If you were an animal, which one would you want to be? And why?

Craig: If could be any animal I would be a horse, so I could run really fast.

My Question: If you were a crayon what color would you be and why?

Craig: If I were a crayon I would be purple but it would be like a pinkish purple cause it’s a bright color and makes me happy.

My Question: Can you name three consecutive days without using the words Wednesday, Friday, or Saturday?

Craig: Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday?

He was unsure why I asked the last question but I just smiled and he kind of just went with it. This was when I told him I had no more questions and he said, “well, that was painless.”

I thanked him and he said was glad to do anytime and so we said see ya later cause we would be seeing each other again soon.

What I took away from this interview was that plans can change. Craig planned to be a minister but those plans clearly changed because he is now now works in the purchasing department at Delaware Valley University.

I also learned that you can name three days in a row without using Wednesday, Friday or Saturday.

Leave a Reply

