The DelVal Plauge

By: Johanna Marano February 19, 2017

The DelVal Plague is real and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. There has been talk on campus about a few confirmed cases of the flu, in addition to a nasty stomach bug floating around. But whatever this DelVal Plague truly is, let me tell you kids it is no joke.

If you have not yet contracted it, congratulations to you. Please keep up your healthy habits and do not fall victim like so many of us. However, if you have had the terrible misfortune of getting hit by this, I am sure you can easily relate when I say this is completely awful.

I sadly fell victim late Tuesday night and have felt like death ever since. The most bizarre thing about it though, is that it came out of nowhere. One minute I was having fun and talking with friends and the next minute it felt like I was dying.

I can’t even remember the last time I was this sick. It started with me having chills and aching joints. I couldn’t really explain the chilling sensation that I couldn’t seem to shake. I thought maybe my body ached because I had been dancing a lot more than normal because I was preparing for an upcoming performance, which happened to be the night of me catching this disease. Or was it because I put my all into that exhilarating performance and now my body was finally catching up with me.

Then when I gave it more thought, I decided I was dehydrated. This has happened to me in the past. I don’t drink enough and then my joints are excruciatingly painful to move. On Tuesday, I didn’t eat or drink anything until almost two-thirty in the afternoon because I was so busy with classes and making sure everything was set for my dance team’s performance. Although I ate and drank after that time, I did very little because I have always had this fear of consuming foods and liquids before dancing. I always think they will come back up the way they went down.

Whatever the reason was behind my aching bones did not change the fact about how incredibly awful I felt. Little did I know, but this was only the beginning of what felt like a slow and painful death. These symptoms would continue for the next few days, but would eventually be accompanied by more. I woke up the next day feeling a little bit better, but realized that that was a funny joke. I got worse as the day went on and everyone could see I looked miserable.

As the week went on, I was soon hit with a stuffy nose and the feeling that my throat was on fire. Nothing I did could subdue the feeling of burning and scratching going on in my esophagus. I struggled going from class to class, probably only making myself worse. Only by a miracle did I make it to Friday with all my suffering that week. That is when I packed up my belongings and decided to come home for the weekend. I can’t think of a better way to get well than being at home resting.

Should I have gone to the doctor or at least the wellness center? Perhaps. Did I though? No. Why? Because I have never been a doctor person, something that seems to run in my family. Also I always think that if I pump myself with some DayQuil or NyQuil I’ll be fine. This time though, it was probably more serious and could have used some medical guidance.

Even as I sit here now typing this, I am still not better. But I do have to say, I am a lot better than I was. Currently, I am down to just an occasional stuffy nose and a cough I can’t shake. I just hope once the DelVal plague is finally gone from my system it doesn’t come back. I definitely cannot take a second round of whatever this was.

So remember kids, wash your hands, Lysol everything you own, drink tons of fluids, and get adequate amounts of sleep. Germs are everywhere and aren’t fun. This is the one time in life when sharing is not caring. And if you are a DelVal student, all I can tell you is beware of the plague. You never know who its next victim will be.

Leave a Reply

