The Little Things

Its the littlest things in life that give us the greatest joy. I am a strong believer in that. I know many can object to this, but I have never found my joy in money or other materialistic things. Of course when I was young I loved getting toys and whatnot, but the older I get the more I realize its the people, its the laughter we share, its the joy of helping each other where I find my value.

Jesus Christ once quoted, “How hard is it for a rich man to enter the Kingdom of God?” His disciples asked Him, “How hard is it?” Then He changed the question, “how hard is it for those who put their trust in money to enter the Kingdom of God?” He followed that by saying, “it is easier for a camel to enter the eye of a needle, but with God anything is possible.”

Life can be great when we have a lot of money, but when that becomes our life line, security, and hope, and when we put our faith in it, that is when we start to walk on a slippery slope. By slippery slope, I mean, one move away from disaster. If you had zero dollars, would you still have hope? Of course, that’s a question most of us wouldn’t want to think about. But honestly if our hope is in money, we are living on the edge and one bad piece of fortune could crush us. If you don’t believe it, ask somebody who survived the great depression. The great depression was a period of the highest suicide rate, because people lost all their money. There is no guarantee in money, it’s materialistic, a piece of paper, and one day it will leave us, or we will leave it, either way, it is a fact that one of those two are going to happen. I put my trust in God and trust that He has a plan and in that faith, is where I find my greatest joy.

Sometimes in life, its the things that are unseen, the laughter we share, the interaction with one another, the hope and faith. Those are the things that fill our hearts in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

