Interview with a DelVal Student

Nick is a junior at DelVal as a small animal science major. We sat down and talked a little bit about DelVal life.

 

Jenny: One negative rumor about DelVal?

Nick: The food sucks.

 

Jenny: How would you respond to that?

Nick: Personally I don’t think it’s that bad. There’s always enough variety to find something different. It might not always be healthy but we’re in college, would anyone eat healthy anyway?

 

Jenny: What do you think is DelVal’s best quality?

Nick: Beauty of the campus. I like being able to walk around and enjoy the country scenery like the farms. Especially in South lounges, that’s the best place to watch the sunset. I can’t imagine being in a city school, there’s a different feel.

 

Jenny: What’s your favorite class you’ve taken and why?

Nick: Animal Training and Enrichment. You get to actually train animals. Even if I don’t do that directly in my field, it can still come in handy. It’s interesting to work with different animals because they learn differently.

 

Jenny: What’s your favorite spot on campus?

Nick: Lake Archer. Even if it’s just a pond, it’s very pretty. I also like laying on the quad in between classes when people are passing because you get to see everyone and enjoy the weather or listen to music.

 

Jenny: What is the most valuable lesson you’ve learned while at DelVal?

Nick: I’ve learned how to manage my time better and I don’t need someone to tell me when to do my work. Being in school is your first chance to be on your own so you have to learn when to study and when to play video games all night.

 

Jenny: What’s your favorite thing about DelVal?

Nick: I like the small size of the campus. Everyone knows everyone or you at least recognize people. Going to a larger school, you could be there for four years and not meet everyone. Having a smaller campus makes it more of a community and it’s a friendlier environment.

 

Jenny: What is the best extra-curricular experience you’ve had while at DelVal?

Nick: I really enjoyed working in the Small Animal Labs on campus. It’s a valuable learning experience working with animals that I didn’t have before coming here. It’s also a lot of fun and I think it’s cool that I can learn more outside the classroom pertaining to the field I want to be in. Especially when we use the animals for class, I know all about them like what we feed them etc. from working with them.

 

Jenny: What is one thing you would change about DelVal?

Nick: I would add more lights to the campus. It gets really dark on campus at night which isn’t great if you’re travelling between buildings at night. I’d also like to see some of the older residence halls get updated.

 

Jenny: Which faculty or staff member has had the biggest impact on you?

Nick: Ken, my supervisor as an RA. I feel like I’ve learned a lot about how to respect all people and handle other people in tough situations. Even though it has nothing to do with my major and may not help me career- wise, it was made me a better person.

Leave a Reply

