Some Thoughts to my First Child

This is a strange concept, talking to someone who does not yet exist. I hope my future munchkin will find this somewhere on the web someday and be thoroughly creeped out by the whole premise. Let’s see where this goes.

Hi there you precious little angel,

I am sure you are handling being my child like a champ. Bless you. I don’t know how you do it. I can barely deal with myself sometimes. I hope you know you can come to me with anything and for anything though. I am going to adore you so much more than you could ever know. And I don’t even like kids that much, and I’m also writing this in a time where you don’t even yet exist. Weird. But of course you’ll be different than all the other annoying kids out there, I carried you for nine months, so we’ll have a wonderful connection, obviously.

Getting into the deeper stuff, I hope you make this world everything you want it to be. It will be scary, it will be mean, and life will freaking deck you at times. There will be hard spots in every part of your life, but I know you will be strong enough to overcome it all. And if things get a little hairy, talk to me about it. Please. I will always be there for you, no matter what. I will be your rock, just like my mother has been for me. She has taught me all there is to know about being a great parent, even if she doesn’t think so. Go give her a hug for me, I know she’ll appreciate it.

Stay true to yourself and be you. You are beautiful and unique and fantastic in a way that is all your own. Never feel the need to change yourself. Unless you’re being shitty. Then please stop. I wish you the best in your life, and know I will always be there for you every step of the way, whether it be physically or emotionally. I got you babe.

Leave a Reply

