A Transfer’s 2 Cents

I love DelVal.

I feel as a transfer student, you’re bound to like a college/university more than a student who has been there fresh out of high school, or at least appreciate it more. At this point in the game, you’re not here to goof off or get sucked in to what college life is all about. You’ve done that or been a spectator of it when you first got to college too. When you were looking at colleges for the second time, you were more mature (hopefully) and you know what you like and don’t like, or want and don’t want in the place you’re going to call your alma mater. You understand that school really is what high school teachers or first year professors told you it would be- a job. And this may lead to more or less friends than you started with, and that’s okay.  Like I said, I love DelVal, and I wish I was here for my whole college career, but in the same sense, I don’t think I would appreciate it as much. So, despite going through a lot of hardships during my transferring process, I love it, and I wouldn’t have changed it if I could.

A trust me when I say there were a lot of hardships. There were institutions that we’re ideal, that I didn’t get accepted to, there were institutions that were perfect for one reason, but not another- and that’s a hard thing to swallow. I set out to find the perfect college that met all my criteria on my mental check-list. Nothing was met completely. And then I stumbled upon DelVal.

And still it didn’t cross everything off the list.

Shocker, right? I shouldn’t have even held myself to these expectations. In fact DelVal didn’t meet most of the list.  Long story short, I have no idea still why I chose DVU but something felt right.

So, fast forward to my senior year, and looking back. I’ve had a lot of people ask me, “What is a piece of advice you give to an incoming freshmen or transfer student?” And I’ve finally been able to pinpoint it.

Be an advocate for yourself.

When I transferred, only 15 out of 64 credits transferred with me. And goodness did that hurt! But I would not accept that. So I took my transcript around to the department chairs along with registrar’s substitution forms and worked out whether they would take any courses-even if it was just one more. I constantly hear other stories of delayed graduations simply because they accepted what one person said. This is not meant to make you question or put down any advisors or any one individual. But push yourself until absolutely everything is pushing back. It’s not just with a transcript or courses. It applies to who you are as an individual as well. There will not be a cheering squad following you around to toot a horn for you- you need to toot your own horn!

According to my transcript, I should have been graduating in May 2018, but instead I’m only graduating a semester late, thus ending my time at DVU in December 2016.

I’m not saying I’m the poster child for this, but Kay’s 2 cents is to advocate for yourself.

Leave a Reply

