DVU Field Hockey Seniors

For this interview, I decided to ask a series of questions about field hockey to the three seniors.  I interviewed Cecelia Lounsberry, Stefania Swider, and myself who are all seniors at Delaware Valley University.

What is your major and what do you hope to do after you graduate?

Cecelia Lounsberry: I am a pre-professional Biology Major. I hope to go onto veterinary school after I graduate.

Stefania Swider: My major is marketing.  I will be a G.A. next year at DVUFH and perusing my MBA.  My goal is to get into Medical Device sales or as a Medical Center Liaison.

Rebecca Szatkowski: My major is Conservation and Wildlife Management with a minor in Media and Communications.

How long have you been playing field hockey for?

CL: Since I was a freshman in high school so 8 years.

SS: Since 4th grade

RS: I have been playing field hockey for about 10 years.

What is your favorite memory off the field that you have from playing on the Del Val field hockey team?

CL: My favorite memory off the field that I have would probably be all the memories with my teammates. We always have a good time together.

SS: Being a campus leader

RS: My favorite memory off the field was during my freshman year preseason.  After we finished our second practice of the day and after we showered/had dinner we would all hang out.  We would always go to Leah and Sanders (seniors at the time) room and eat popsicles while getting to know each other.

What is your favorite memory on the field that you have from playing on the Del Val field hockey team?

CL: My favorite memory is probably when I scored my first collegiate goal. My teammates were so happy for me because it was something that I had worked for 4 years.

SS: Our freshman year getting into finals of MAC Conference.

RS: My favorite memory on the field happened this semester at our senior year.  For the past four years, I never got a chance to start a game, since I was usually subbed in during the game.  But during the senior game when the whole team walked out and the starters got their name called, my name was announced.  It brought tears to my eyes hearing my teammates cheering for me and getting excited for me to finally get a starting position. 

What motivated you to start playing field hockey?

CL: My sister played field hockey and I enjoyed going to her games so I decided to give it a try when I started high school.

SS: My family motivated me to start playing field hockey.

RS: My aunt played field hockey when she was in school.  Also, since I was on a travel soccer team when I was in middle school, I decided that I wanted to join the middle school field hockey team to get a different experience.

What is a reason that you stayed playing field hockey?

CL: I enjoy the competition and I love the game. I also have enjoyed being with my teammates.

SS: I loved to game, it is not only a sport to me it’s a passion and a lifestyle.

RS: The reason that I stayed on the field hockey team was because I had more fun playing field hockey than I did playing soccer.  Also, I really liked the family dynamic that my field hockey team had.

What is one thing that you are going to miss about playing field hockey?

CL: I am going to miss being out on that field with all of my teammates.

SS: Competing

RS: The one thing that I am going to miss about playing field hockey is the family and team bonding aspect of the sport.  It always felt good to work towards a common goal while staying in shape.

What advice would you give to new incoming freshman who want to play field hockey?

CL: My advice would be that playing field hockey will be one of the best decisions that you’ll make. You will make lifelong friends and have great memories. The years will fly by so enjoy it.

SS: Put work in. Your DIII but as a college athlete you only get what you deserve.  You work and put time in to get strong both mentally and physically you’ll be playing every game.  Stick to one position, you don’t get any honors if you work the whole field.  Be a team player but be sure to remember to honor yourself too and find a happy medium.  Don’t be afraid to have confidence in your game, there will always be someone that thinks they are great but make your ideas aware and have confidence in them to back them up.  Last but not least, don’t leave any minute on that field unaccounted for, meaning grow upon your failures, find what feels right and become a leader to those that need guidance.  Don’t fool around, get on the field do your job and get out.  If you aren’t committed then don’t weigh down those who are, because to someone field hockey isn’t just a sport to do, it’s a living, breathing, beating thing inside them.

RS: A piece of advice that I would give to incoming freshman is, enjoy the little moments.  One day you will look back at this time in your life and remember all of the memories (good and bad) that you made during this time.  Don’t let getting too competitive with your teammates make you lose the family aspect of the sport but use the competitiveness to make each other better.

fh-seniors5

Leave a Reply

