When You Are Close to Giving Up

Don’t. Don’t give in. I know it is really easy for me to sit here behind a computer screen and tell you to not give up. I have no idea what you are going through. Not the faintest idea. I just know that life is always worth living. There is so much more to life than stressing over relationships, money, or just life in general.

My life as a college junior at the moment is absolutely insane. I don’t sleep. I hardly have time to eat. I am constantly running every which way, trying so hard to catch my breath. In comparison to other individual’s problems, my meager issues are nothing. It can always be worse.

My friend and coworker was in an accident last week, and is suffering immeasurably in a coma in the Intensive Care Unit of a hospital. Something that stuck with me was at my staff meeting last week for my job, my boss said after telling us more about my friend’s situation, “I know this is a hard time of year. I know all of you are stressed. But when you feel like it’s too much, just remember how much Jake* would want to trade your position for his.”

This really stuck with me. I know we all have different loads to bear and are constantly at different places in our lives, but just take a deep breath first. If that does not help, get help. Some situations cannot be eased by meditation. If it is a serious issue, definitely get help. Go to a teacher, parent or loved one. They are here to help you.

Some things are not supposed to be handled on our own. Never be afraid to ask for help, no matter the situation. Life is beautiful and so worth living. Never give up on that. If the future seems dim, reach out. There are so many hotlines, services and people who just plain care, available to help out. You are not alone and you will get through this.

Leave a Reply

