The Walking Dead

I absolutely hate scary movies/tv shows because I don’t like being scared.  It is not something that I enjoy watching.  I prefer a romantic comedy or an action movie/ tv show.  And yet, I love The Walking Dead.  I never saw myself liking a tv show with so much gore and jump scares.  My obsession all started my freshman year at Del Val.  My friend, Jess, convinced my roommate and I to watch an episode with her because she didn’t want to watch it by herself.  After watching that first episode in season 4, I was hooked.

The Walking Dead is about more than just killing zombies.  One main theme is that living people hold more of a threat than the zombies.  That is not to say that zombies aren’t dangerous but people are more calculated.  You find yourself hooked on the character’s story lines and rooting for the “good guys” to win.  I put quotes around good guys because in a zombie apocalypse, is there a good vs bad dynamic between the living people.  I feel like the reason most people assume Rick and company are the good guys is because we were with them since the beginning.  Rick has his fair share of horrible kills that he had to do for the better of his people.

One of my favorite part of the series is when the whole gang are in a barn around a camp fire.  Rick has an amazing speech where he said, “When I was a kid… I asked my grandpa once if he ever killed any Germans in the war. He wouldn’t answer. He said that was grown-up stuff. So… so I asked if the Germans ever tried to kill him. But he got real quiet. He said he was dead the minute he stepped in to enemy territory. Every day he woke up and told himself, rest in peace. Now get up and go to war. And then after a few years of pretending he was dead… he made it out alive. That’s the trick of it, I think. We do what we need to do and then, we get to live. But no matter what we find in DC, I know we’ll be okay. Because this is how we survive. We tell ourselves… that we are the walking dead.”  I feel like this was a defining moment because he was trying to justify his actions.  He was saying that although we killed people we only did it so that we could survive another day.

The show has really good cliff hangers every season that keeps fans guessing.  Since this show is based on a comic book, I really like how there is some differences between the two.  This allows the comic book readers to enjoy and be surprised by the cliff hangers too.  The one cliff hanger that should not have happened is the season 6 finale.  The last couple of episodes, it was amping up to who Negan kills, then it just ended.  The scene was so charged with emotional energy that ending the episode without finding out who dies was too harsh a blow.  Fans were outraged that they ended that season this way.  Now we had to wait months to figure out who got killed.  People went crazy by over-analyzing and slowing down the last season trying to figure out clues on who Negan killed.  There was Tumblr posts and YouTube videos of people’s theories on the matter.

Over all The Walking Dead is a show that a lot of fans are really passionate about.  Most of the cliff hangers make fans wanting to know more.  The Walking Dead has good character development that makes you root for them to survive.  You favor Rick’s group over others because you were with them since the beginning.  Even when Rick and company makes a hard decision to kill off other characters you find yourself cheering them on.

Leave a Reply

