An Interview with Andee

Andee Fisher works in the Student Involvement Office at Delaware Valley University. She is the coordinator for all clubs and organizations on campus as well as Greek life. She also advises Student Programming Board, Inter-Club Council, Colleges Against Cancer, Inter Greek Council, and Order of Omega. Even with a busy schedule, Andee was able to sit and talk to me about her experiences at DelVal, her previous experiences and what she does in her spare time. Since I am a member of Student Programming Board, I focused some questions more on events and programming.

 

Jenny: What is your favorite part of being at DelVal?

Andee*: My favorite part of DelVal is the people. There are a lot of unique and caring people here. Students ask about my day and genuinely care about my answer. It’s a friendly, tight-knit, family community.

 

J: What is the best collegiate event you’ve ever been a part of (including when you were a student)?

A: At my undergrad (The Catholic University of America), we hosted the Pope one year while he was in America. Getting to be a part of that is a once in a lifetime experience that not many people can say they’ve had.

 

J: What is the best event you’ve advised at DelVal?

A: Relay for Life. At that event, there is a sense of community that you don’t get at other events. There are a variety of clubs, organizations, teams and even staff working together for one cause. The best part is that you can see the passion behind why each person supports the cause (cancer research) as well.

 

J: What is the hardest part of your job?

A: Being so heavily involved with clubs/orgs, I’m unable to be part of other aspects of campus life. For example, I’d love to be able to go to all of the sporting events but my schedule doesn’t always allow that.

 

J: What do you see as the next step in your career?

A: I’d like to become the Director of Student Life at a small institution.

 

J: Your job can be very stressful, what is one super power you wish you had at work?

A: I wish I had super speed so that I could get administrative tasks done faster so I can spend more time with students because that’s the part of my job I enjoy the most.

 

J: When you are on campus for various events, what are three things you must have at all times?

A: A water bottle, my phone, and my master keys for the Student Center so I can get whatever we need.

 

J: When you aren’t at school for a program or meeting, what is your favorite thing to do in your free time?

A: I like to hang out at home and play with my dog, Dolce.

 

J: On the topic of things you like to do outside of work, what is the last show you binge watched?

A: Orange is the New Black and The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. I feel like these two shows are a good blend of my personality, serious and fun.

 

J: You’re often complimented on your outfits. What is your favorite thing you like to splurge on?

A: Shoes, dresses, and necklaces, in that order.

 

*Answers were paraphrased for clarity

Leave a Reply

