Fall

Lately we’ve all been seeing a lot of fall related advertisement. Especially after the hot summer we had, everyone is very excited for sweaters, cool weather, and pumpkin everything. For weeks we’ve been seeing memes of jack-o- lanterns and Starbucks drinks and even summer people seem to agree that it’s time for fall. For me, however, the loveliest things about fall are much more simple. Yes, it’s nice to go pumpkin picking and decorate for Halloween, but the natural parts of fall, the parts that aren’t as commercial, are the best. I’ve compiled a little list of my personal favorites of fall. Feel free to disagree, but these are the things that really makes fall the best season for me.

  1. First off, the leaves. The absolute best part of fall is the changing of the leaves. It’s the best part of living in a place with all four seasons. Driving down the road through the woods or even just sitting and looking out the window gives you a beautiful view. Forget store bought decorations, nature basically decorates itself. Also, fallen leaves make for awesome leaf piles. It doesn’t matter how old you are, there is simply nothing more satisfying than jumping in a giant pile of multi-colored leaves. I feel like sometimes on social media, all we see are the Halloween advertisements and we forget about the biggest thing that makes fall special from every other season.
  2. The cooler weather. Most of the time, people hate the dropping temperatures of fall because that means winter is on its way. Of course this year is a little different because of the brutal summer, but generally, there is some sadness when the days get shorter and the mornings colder. To me, there’s a difference between cool and cold. There’s a certain temperature, a “crispness” some people call it that fall air has. It may be a little annoying to throw on an extra jacket, but I find it comfortable. Being able to wear a nice big sweatshirt and not feel like you’re going to die is a really great thing. Also, I no longer feel like a hermit in my apartment. I no longer have to keep the windows closed, shades down, and AC blasting just to be comfortable. I’m able to open the windows and blinds and look at all of the beautiful changing leaves outside my window.
  3. The smell. This one might sound a little crazy, but stay with me. Fall has a certain smell. I think I’ve decided that it’s a combination of the cool air and the fallen leaves on the ground. The air smells woodsier and clean. If you don’t know what smell I’m talking about, take a walk in the woods once the leaves start falling. There really is a particular smell that you don’t get any other time of year. For me, it’s always the best indicator that the season is changing.
  4. Apples! Ok fine, this one has been a bit more commercialized. Apple picking, apple products, apples galore. In my area though, apples are a big deal, more specifically, apple picking. You go with your family, with your friends, on a date. It’s just a thing to do. The best part is always eating one apple while you’re picking away in the orchard. For some reason, it always tastes better right off the tree. And the apples you get from an orchard are always 100% better than store bought. Some of my favorite fall memories are apple picking with my family and running around stuffing our bags with as many apples as we can carry.

Whether you love pumpkin spice, horror movies, or the changing of the leaves, fall is a great season. Luckily, although there is definitely commercialization, it’s not as overkill as other holiday seasons. And if everyone took the time to appreciate the more natural parts of fall that I listed, I promise that even the most stubborn summer lovers will appreciate fall too.

Leave a Reply

