Dear Future Child

Dear Future Child,

I hope you feel like you can come talk to me.  I want you to know you can feel free to talk to me about anything.  I wish that one day you will see how much I love you and everything I do in this life is to help you become that best that you can be.  I cannot wait to see and hold you for the first time.  I want you to know that I will do anything to protect you from the harsh reality of life.  I cannot wait to see the joy on your face when you finally make that goal or land the vault or design that art project or when you do something that you love.  Know that I will be on the sidelines cheering for you whatever hobby that you choose.  I will be your number one fan!  I look forward to watching you walk across the stage in your graduation cap accepting your diploma.  I already picture myself watching you with pride in my heart and tears rolling down my face.  I will try not to freak out when you bring your first significant other home.  I want you to find someone that treats you with respect and will love you and care for you.  I hope that you realize that I will support you in every step of the way.  I want to make sure that I teach you the importance of family and trust.  I know that family means everything to me and I want you to feel the same way.  I will support you through the hard times during your life.  Know that I will be your support system and will love you know matter what happens.  I am here to fall back on when something in your life comes crashing down.

I am writing this letter to you in my senior year at college.  I know that at this point in time I haven’t really realized how close to the “real world” that I am.  I know how hard it is for my mom to grasp the significance that her second daughter is graduating college.  We had a long discussion on how fast these four years have flown by.  It probably seems like yesterday that she was holding me for the first time.  I want to write this letter so that when you go off on your own and make a name for yourself, you have this letter to fall back on.  You have this letter to know that I will always be in your corner and that you can always come and talk to me.  I cannot promise you what your life will lead to, but I can promise you that I will be there every step of the way.

I know that the moment that I look into your eyes for the first time I will love you unconditionally.  I promise you that I will be by your side from your first breath to my last breath.

Sincerely, your loving mother,

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

