Here Comes the Sun

Monday morning I made sure I arrived at school several hours prior to my first class so that I could get as much of my 80 pages of reading done as possible. I knocked out the first 60 pages, taking very detailed notes, and I was feeling pretty good about my preparation for class. When I arrived at class, the room was empty. I’ve been having some difficulty accessing my student email and so I wasn’t sure if my professor had sent one regarding a room change, so I made my way over to the department offices to ask around. I found out the room had been changed, so I made my way to it as quickly as I could. When I finally walked through the door, about 10-15 minutes late, I saw that everyone else had out a different book. Fuck.

Needless to say I wasn’t feeling too good. I could’ve sworn he’d said to read the book I read, but I totally should’ve checked the syllabus and it’s all my fault. I decided to withdraw from that course. The load feels substantially lighter now.

I have a confession to make. I transferred to DelVal with the hopes that I’d be able to play for the football team. I think I’d like to coach football when I grow up. I didn’t play in high school. To this point my experience is limited to backyard games and a few recreational adult leagues, but I love it. It’s the best part of my life. Having been swamped with a seemingly insurmountable workload, or perhaps not but that is where I’ve chosen to assign the blame, I haven’t been exercising nearly as often as I need to be in order to give myself a fighting chance. Now that my reading requirements are about a weekly 250 pages lighter, I feel I’ve left myself with no excuses, and I’m optimistic that I’ll be able to accomplish that which I’ve set out to do. To be continued…

-Drew Kirsch

Leave a Reply

