How my Freshman roommate became my person: An Interview

Two years ago I found myself in a sticky situation. I was going to a college where I literally did not know a soul and that quite frankly scared the bejesus out of me. I am shy in the best of circumstances, so I was being thrown way out of my comfort zone and into a place that made me ridiculously uncomfortable. So naturally, I took to Facebook to try to find a decent prospective roommates. I was striking out with people left and right, but then I saw on our class page on Facebook that this girl named Christine was looking for a roommate as well. After some serious snooping, I found out we had a ton in common and basically led the same lives up until this point, so decided to message her. To name a few, were both Equine majors with intentions to go to Veterinary school, both loved horses and animals, and both in need of a roommate. After some intense speed dating-roommate edition, we decided to live together for our freshman year. We just clicked and the rest is history. We have basically been together 24/7 for the last two years of our lives. Being with anyone else for this amount of time would have drove me up a wall, but not her. She has been there for me through some of the worst parts of my life and the best parts. Christine has never been afraid to tell me when I’m being stupid or overreacting, or if that outfit looks bad on me, I can always count on her. She is also one of my biggest supporters and I never knew how fast a friend could become like family until I met her. Now I’m an RA on campus and she has an apartment with some of our other friends, so we don’t get to see each other close to as much as we’re used to. It’s sad, but we’re making due. Now that you’ve now heard my sappy side; let’s see what she thinks of little old me.

When you first met me, what did you initially think? Be honest.

“As you said, we definitely did some intense speed-dating roommate edition. I was definitely really nervous meeting you at first because I have heard many horror stories when it came to meeting random roommates. But I would have to say we clicked the moment we met and I couldn’t imagine my best friend being anyone else. We figured out that we had so much in common and I just remember being so excited thinking that we were going to be the best of friends throughout the rest of college, and now for the rest of our lives (like when were are 80 years old living it up in our retirement home together).”

How did you like living in the residence hall Cooke freshman year?

“I loved living in Cooke. I still say it to you to this day! Our best friends lived right upstairs and I think that we had made a lot of friends that year. I loved that everyone in Cooke always had their doors open and it gave us the opportunity to meet so many interesting people and were capable of making friends that we continue to talk to even in our junior year.”

What is you favorite memory of us? If you can’t pick one, top three is fine!

“This is definitely a very difficult question because we have been through so much together. This is definitely really difficult to choose just one, but I have a few that really pop into my head. The first memory that I have with you would be from the first week of orientation when we first came to college. I will never forget us walking around the dining hall (feeling super awkward because we had no friends and had no idea where to sit) and we noticed Andrea and Alyssa sitting at the back table and we recognized them from orientation. We decided to be social (for once) and go up to them and the rest is history. For some reason, I just really knew at this moment just from us sticking together trying to meet other people, that you and I would be friends for life. Andrea lives with me and even though she goes to Gwynedd Mercy University now instead, she is still one of those grew core friends that I don’t think either of us could live without.

Another memory I will never forget is when we went to the beach not too long ago. It was just you and I and although we have lived together since the beginning of college, it just made me feel so happy. It was just so relaxing and peaceful, and I wouldn’t want to spend my time off with anyone else. I feel like we are always stressing at school, and I just remember that weekend with you being so peaceful and I literally would not have wanted to spend it with anyone else but you!”

Can we get matching tattoos? If so, any ideas?

“I really think we should get matching tattoos. I know a lot of people don’t like doing this because if you stop being friends with someone, you are stuck with this tattoo, but I am not worried about us ever having a falling out. One idea that I have thought about are the infinity tattoos because I am obsessed with those and I know a lot of people use them for relationships, but it means forever so I think we could put a best friend/sisterly twist to it.”

What song makes you think of our friendship?

“Heroes by Alesso ft. ToveLo and Don’t Let me Down by the Chainsmokers ft. Daya. Just because we totally freak out every time they come on.”

Getting a little more school oriented; are you happy with your choice of DelVal for your undergrad studies?

“I am extremely happy with my choice of DelVal because I do not think I would be getting this type of hands-on experience at any other undergrad school, such as Centenary College in Jersey. I have been extremely lucky in building a relationship with Dr. Young, who is both my boss and professor, and I have already done so many hands-on breeding procedures that some students might not be doing until veterinary school. I look up to her in both academia and in the workplace.”

What do you plan on doing once you graduate?

“Once I graduate, I am planning on going to veterinary school because I, like you, am basically going to be in school for the rest of my life. HA.”

After graduation, how do you see me fitting into your life?

“It makes me really sad to think about graduation because not being able to live with you now makes me really sad. And I think we both know that we will most likely end up in different places, but you’re my best friend and you are not getting rid of me that easily. We will make it work because I can’t imagine not having you as my best friend no matter what. I will always be here for you, and I will ALWAYS need you in my life no matter how far apart we are.”

Am I going to be the godmother of your first kid, if you choose to have one (and my life is not in shambles by that point)? If not, I’m totally cool with settling and being your Maid of Honor.

“Don’t worry because my life will most likely be in shambles as well but what else is new?But yes you will be both my Maid of Honor and the godmother of my child. I am most definitely going to need you to help me raise my child especially when it is going to be gross and sticky and annoying.”

Where do you see us 10 years from now? 20? How bout 50?

“I see us being successful doctors in ten years from now, making tons of money and marrying some gorgeous men…maybe between 10-20 years from now. Haha. I am not giving up on that idea of finding a cold-de-sac and being neighbors so our families are literally going to not just be best friends, but family as well. I really want to get a mini pony too so we may have to build a little barn in our yards so we can raise a bunch of minis just because it’s awesome. In 50 years, we are going to be these bad-ass elderly people who won’t take shit from nobody. I am telling you if our kids stick us nursing homes already because they won’t be able to handle our craziness, then we are going to run those nursing homes just because we’re damn awesome!”

Why are you so awesome???

“I LOVE YOU AND THANK YOU FOR BEING MY BEST FRIEND. I am extremely sad that we are not living together and I feel like I don’t get to say that enough to you because we have both been so busy.. but I know we will make this work because I love you no matter what and as many friends as we may make over the years, you are my best friend. You are my sister and I love you like crazy and your stuck with me for life sista…sorry not sorry”.

So, thank you so much for being my best friend and person, I don’t say it nearly enough. I am so glad we both ended up here. At the end of these crazy four years, we get to come out with a degree and the sister that we’ve never had. You da bomb. I wanted to share this story, because I started college so afraid I would not find a place to fit in. I now realize it is not about that, but just know it gets better. I had crappy friends in high school, and never knew if I could find a person to connect with that really cared about me. But I did. Your person is out there, so don’t give up.

img_1241

 

Leave a Reply

