Why you should watch Game of Thrones

Let me just start this off by saying that Game of Thrones is easily one of the most amazing television series I have ever watched. That is why you should watch it. The end.

Just kidding. I’ll give you some more dirty details. In this past year, I have had so many friends that have recommended this lovely show to me, so I finally caved. I stole my best friend’s HBO account password so I could finally see what all the fuss was about. And I am so glad I did.

There are currently six seasons, with another on the way, all containing ten episodes of an hour in length. Loosely based on books written by George R.R. Martin, it follows the lives of different nobles, knights, and challengers of the Iron Throne, and this all goes down in a country called Westeros. This is a lovely place where magic, dark forces, and humans all combine to make the mayhem that is the GoT world.

Initially, I was very concerned going into this binge-watching event. I knew starting out that basically all the characters died in some horribly gruesome way or another, so I wouldn’t be able to get emotionally attached like I tend to do.

I do admit; the series started off a little dry. There were at least a million characters, all with different hierarchies and alleigences, who lived in crazy places in different countries with even stranger languages. So, without reading the books I was at a loss. All of a sudden though, seasons were flying by and I couldn’t stop watching them. I ended most of my nights this summer with a healthy dose of GoT and I do not regret it. I did in fact get attached to characters, and my heart hurt when they died, more than I would like to admit. Others though, I would literally laugh out loud and scare the crap out of my roommate with my outbursts when they finally reached their well-deserved end.

This series weaves a tale of magic, love, tragedy, intelligence, loyalty, and so many other awesome things, which is what I believe makes it so appealing to such a large number of people. It has made me laugh and cry. It has made me wish dragons were an actual thing. Daenerys Targaryen makes me wish I could pull off platinum blonde hair. This show makes you root so hard for your favorite characters in this game that they are playing, that you almost forget they are not real people. It is a beautiful thing to see and I thank my friends for getting me hooked.

With the new season coming out in summer 2017, you have more than enough to start watching. So I highly suggest you do that. After all, winter is here.landscape-1458744326-game-of-thrones-cast

Leave a Reply

