Open letter to my dogs…

Dear Thunder and Breeze,

I don’t understand why you walk around in a circle before you lay down. I don’t get the need for a constant outburst of barking when someone on TV knocks on a door or rings a doorbell.

Thank you for the late night cuddles, licking my tears when school becomes to much and always being at the door to greet me when I get home. Thank you for forgiving me when I get home late. Thanks for forgiving me when I get mad and yell. You’re the best for never leaving my side when I’m sick and for letting me vent to you when I have a bad day.

I’m also sorry for all the times I decided to go out instead of spending the night in with you. I’m sorry that sometimes when I wake up annoyed with you after you had to wake up in the middle of the night to go potty. I am sorry if you are lonely in your kennel for the day, and I am sorry for when I forget to rub your belly in just the right spot.

I wish I could tell you that no matter how many shoes you chew up, I will still love you. I wish I could tell you that no matter how many other dogs you can smell on my clothes, you are still my favorite. I wish I could tell you that the thunder is not going to get to you and the rain is not trying to break into the house. Lastly, I wish I could tell you that the vacuum is not going to suck you up.

Most of all, I want to thank you for being my best friend. I have never met someone else that would give their life for me. I have never met anyone who cares for someone as much as you care for me. You mean the world to me, and I don’t thank you enough for all that you truly do. I am lucky to have your love, trust and loyalty. I wish you could read this letter to truly know that you are my world. I love you so much.

Love,
Me…your best friend!

Leave a Reply

