Should We Be Doing Something?

You know, as I watched the news broadcast of the Brussels bombing, I thought to myself “When is this shit going to end?” I’ve been asking myself questions like “Isn’t there something we can all do to stop this stuff from happening, or is this just the kind of fucked up world we live in today?” I cant help to think that, as I scroll through my social media feeds and see things like #PrayforBrussels and #PrayforPeace, I can’t bring myself to partake in those campaigns. It makes me feel as though its a cop out. I mean didn’t we pray for peace and pray for Paris when those bombings occurred a few months ago? What is that doing for the victims? Has it helped at all?  It just pisses me off because whether we’re praying to a higher power, or talking with our families in front of the television screen, nothing has changed to stop these types of heinous crimes from happening. And it seems its just the narrative told within a different setting. It makes me feel powerless. And I ask myself, should we be doing something? Is there not something more we can do besides posting a nice little hashtag on a tweet or a Facebook post? I don’t know….

When we’re kids, were taught that good always prevails over evil. The hero always defeats the villain. The Jedi defeats the Sith. Maybe its that, because I was taught this, that I have bigger hopes for the world? Is it too much to ask that you know maybe, we can stop killing each other off in order to put forth our own beliefs? Maybe I just have too much goodwill to see the world for what it really is, or maybe I’m just too much of an optimist. Or maybe I’m just too naive to think that we can all do something. To think that we can do something so that we can all live in a world where no one has to worry about this type of shit happening. To think that we could live in a world where people could actually travel overseas without worrying if they’ve seen their families for the last time. Dammit, is that too much of to ask for? Is that too perfect of a world? I’m aware these issues reach into the political

I realize that when I ask myself “Should be be doing something?”, I don’t have an answer. And I don’t know whether I’m looking at this at the wrong point of view. But I know how I feel when I’m forced to watch my television seeing others in pain, and only being able to throw up a trending hashtag, or put up a profile picture with the flag of the country of was victimized. To me, it feels degrading. It makes me feel like there’s got to be more we can do as humans, as people, as a world. But I don’t have the answer, and that’s one of the worst parts of it.

“Let them all pass all their dirty remarks
There is one question I’d really love to ask
Is there a place for the hopeless sinner,
Who has hurt all mankind just to save his own beliefs?”

– One Love/ People Get Ready- Bob Marley

 

Leave a Reply

