Speed Networking…you should try it!!

SpeedNetworking

So I attended the Branching Out Networking for students and Alumni. This was by far the best networking event I have ever attended. It was not your normal networking event where there are booths and you go to each booth and hope to make a good impression and hope they have time to talk to you. This was like a speed dating type event, getting time to talk to each business person. When I first got there it was an informal type networking and I was a little nervous and was not sure who to talk to. Then once the speed networking happened, it was game on. I got to talk to about 30 people for three minutes each and was able to make connections and get advice from each person. Even though there were people from all different companies and different majors, each business person I talked to was able to give me some great advice. Even the business people outside my major were able to give some life advice, even though I was not looking to get into their career field. I am really glad that I got a chance to go to this event and make some amazing connections, even outside my field if I decided to change career paths. I hope that if there is another event like this, you take the time to go and make some connections and learn about different careers outside your major.

It was awesome to see that Alumni are coming back to the college community to share their careers and help students score an internship or to be able to steer students in the right direction for an internship. This really makes me happy to be apart of this college community knowing that people that graduate are willing to come back and help future graduates from their future paths

.networking-meme

 

One thought on “Speed Networking…you should try it!!

Leave a Reply

